1109 S. 16th St. Fort Smith, AR 72901
Phone: 479.785.2651
Fax: 479.785.1964
Lake_Hinkle—Scott-CountyHighway_23_Bridge—Franklin-CountyFort_Smith_National_Historic_Site—Sebastian-CountyDowntown_Mena—Polk-CountyCity of Paris – Logan CountyArkansas Missouri_Railroad_Van_Buren—Crawford-County
Lake Hinkle - Scott County
Highway 23 Bridge - Franklin County
Fort Smith National Historic Site - Sebastian County
Downtown Mena - Polk County
City of Paris - Logan County
Arkansas Missouri Railroad Van Buren - Crawford County

Western Arkansas Planning & Development District

Welcome to the Western Arkansas Planning and Development District! Founded in 1966, WAPDD serves the six counties of Crawford, Franklin, Logan, Polk, Scott and Sebastian by providing a variety of resources, services and information. In this role, we assist area leaders and residents in areas like community and economic development, workforce development, transportation improvement, emergency 911 services and much more.

“The mission of the Western Arkansas Planning and Development District is to foster community and economic growth in our local economy by providing community and economic development, workforce innovation, transportation and emergency planning and various other professional services in support of our Region.  We are the central catalyst for community-centered economic development that links our counties, cities and businesses with state, federal and private resources to aid in a higher quality of life while promoting future growth for all citizens of Western Arkansas.”

Explore what WAPDD is already doing for Western Arkansas, and what we are ready to do for you today!

Top Story

Hatfield Receives Rural Community Grant

Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC Executive Vice President Amy Fecher and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $127,772.28 to 13 rural communities at an awards ceremony on May 26th, 2016 held at the John Q. Hammons Conference Center in Rogers. The communities were selected for funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program’s Cycle III of fiscal year 2016.

In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Community Development Grant award on behalf of Hatfield in Polk County. City of Hatfield received $6,325 to pave two handicapped spaces and a portion of the walking trail at the city park.

AEDC Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year.  Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office.

For more information about Rural Services and their grant programs contact Rural Services at 1-888-RURAL-AR.

Hatfield Polk Co 1

Pictured from left to right are:  Bob Williams, ARDC Commissioner, David Johnston, ARDC Commissioner, Amy Fecher, AEDC Executive Vice President, Mike Preston, Executive Director, Mayor Linda Denton, Governor Asa Hutchinson, Alex Johnston, ADRS Director, Larry Denton, Tracee McKenna, WAPDD, Jamie Pafford-Gresham, ARDC Chair


December 14, 2016 at 12:00 p.m.
River Park Events Building, West Room
121 Riverfront Drive Fort Smith, AR


WAPDD is working to update the Hazard Mitigation Plans for Crawford and Sebastian Counties. The purpose of the Hazard Mitigation Plans is to outline and prioritize the measures to be taken in order to prevent the loss of life and property from a natural disaster. The public is invited to participate by completing a natural hazards questionnaire. To complete a questionnaire, click the appropriate link for either Crawford or Sebastian County based on where you reside.